Tanzania (Comprised Of Tanganyika, Zanzibar And Pemba)

Tanzania (Comprised Of Tanganyika, Zanzibar And Pemba)

The United Republic of Tanzania comprises Tanganyika, on the African mainland, and the islands of Zanzibar and Pemba. Tanganyika lies on the east coast of Africa and is bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north; Rwanda, Burundi and Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west; and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south. The islands of Zanzibar and Pemba lie off the east coast of Tanganyika.


Area: 947 300 km2

Population: 41.9 million

Capital: Dodoma (largest city Dar es Salaam)

Currency: Tanzanian shilling

GDP: $ 62.2 billion (2010)

Internet domain: .tz

Languages: Swahili, English (official languages)

Working week: Monday – Friday

Exports: Raw cotton; cashew nuts; gold; coffee

Imports: Industrial raw materials; construction materials; consumer goods; transport equipment; crude oil

Although Tanzania is a United Republic, uniting Tanganyika and Zanzibar (which is part of an archipelago including Pemba), Zanzibar retained its legislative independence in certain areas, inter alia in intellectual property. So, although the United Republic of Tanzania is a union of the two countries, the IP regime in Tanzania entails two separate and independent legal systems: for purposes of IP regulation, Tanganyika and Zanzibar are two separate jurisdictions. Zanzibar has thus enacted its own IP laws which apply in Zanzibar (and apparently also in Pemba).

Therefore, although the IP laws enacted in Tanganyika are formulated as if to apply to the entire United Republic, so that protection obtained under those laws would appear to have effect also in Zanzibar and Pemba, this is in fact not the case.